Musicians of the Ohlone Wind Orchestra

Director Tony Clements

Tony Clements, Director

The Ohlone Wind Orchestra has been under the direction of Tony Clements since 2001, when he assumed the baton from the ensemble’s founder and fellow low brass player, Philip Zahorsky.

In addition to his leadership of the OWO, Clements conducts the Ohlone Community Band and the Mission Peak Brass Band, and has also served as Director of Bands at California State University, East Bay.

A New York native, Clements studied with Bill Barber, Floyd Cooley, Tommy Johnson, Jim Self, and Roger Bobo. In 1981, he was appointed Principal Tubist of the San José Symphony, and holds the same role with its successor, Symphony Silicon Valley. He has performed with the San Francisco Symphony, San Diego Symphony, Oakland Symphony, Sacramento Symphony, San Francisco Ballet Orchestra and San Francisco Opera Orchestra.

Ensemble members, Fall 2018

The members of the Ohlone Wind Orchestra include professional and dedicated amateur musicians from throughout the greater Bay Area.    * denotes Section Principal

Flute and piccolo
Jonathan Dufour
Barb Gurnari *
Lori Huberman
Karen Kolber
Jennifer Oliver

Ronald Kerst (+ English horn)
Anne Martin

Bb Clarinet
Kathy Boster *
Robbie Brown
Susan Cooper
Barbara Denny
Ann Guerra
Nora Lemmon (+ Eb clarinet)
Danielle Napoleon, Asst. Concertmaster
Cyndy Salmon
Jack Stanley
Debbie Wetmore

Bass Clarinet
Mark Beyer
Kathy Switky

Mark Beyer (soprano)
Jeff Cravens (tenor)
Michael Graff * (alto)
Paul Lorigan (baritone)
Chuck Stolarek (alto)

Michael Garvey *
Lara Levy

French Horn
Randy Hart
Richard Lamb
Tyler Morse *
Chris Nalls
Fleurette Sevin

Paul Dhuse
Bob Fitt
Cliff Mercer
Warren Necoechea
Ken Walter *

Lauren Casey-Clyde
John Fitzhugh
Diane Schildbach *

Bass Trombone
Colleen Callan

John Monroe

James Barany
Earl Pitman
John Taylor *

Ralph Becker-Szendy
Jonathan H. Chu
Jason Sander
Brad Wetmore *
Larry Yang

Ralph Becker-Szendy

Copyright © 2024 | My Music Band by Catch Themes